Heart broken, Eyes opened (A Review on Khaled Hosseini’s The Kite Runner)

77203
Photo credits: goodreads.com

For some reasons (which basically include tons of office work and the inability to write this review immediately due to broken heart), it’s been a loooooong time since I last wrote a review, and to be honest, I missed it so baaad, so here it is.

Rating: 5/5

I’ve been warned. Many of my friends since college to the office told me that this book will surely break my heart. But I did not listen. I thought, how would a book about a kite runner shatter my heart the way these people describe? After reading the book, I still haven’t found the answer but all I know is that my heart was shattered into pieces (which actually took a relatively long time to be whole again).And the first star was because of this–that kind of feeling that it gave me. I felt like I was with Amir while all he was going through all those things.

The second star was for the way the story was told. The way Hosseini tied the words together are really good, and thus piercing into my heart as deep as it can. He made the words beautiful and painful all at the same time, making the book a really wonderful one.

The third star was for how the story built up. It was long, both in terms of words and time frame. But it was not a “boringly-long”story. The length was justified by how the story developed. I don’t think I could ever grasp the depth of this story if it didn’t took that many pages.

The fourth one was for the “relate-ability”of the story. For one, I am a Christian and an Asian, I live in a country with very different customs, yet I was still able to relate to this. And after reading the book (and wiping my tears), I thought, maybe it was in how this book was made, making us realize that across culture and faith, this is still something common among us and that is the ability to feel for each other. Thank you, Khaled, for reminding me of that.

And the last star  was for how realistic it is. I don’t think this will break the hearts of many if we are not aware that these things happen in reality and we just sit around watching it in the news. We all know that Amir’s and Hassan’s stories are also stories of many young people in their nation. And for those who used to not pay much attention to it (like me, before), this book indeed serves as an eye opener.

With all these points, I can really say that this is one of the best books I’ve ever read and the mark it left in my heart will always be here. AND I WILL MAKE SURE MY FUTURE CHILDREN WILL GET TO READ THIS.

THANK YOU, KHALED, FOR REMINDING ME THAT LITERATURE CAN INDEED RENEW EVERY PERSON’S FAITH IN HUMANITY.

Leave a Reply

