Prime (A review on Paulo Giordano’s ‘The Solitude of Prime Numbers’)

solitude
Hi! Well, I think it took me a long time to review this book because (1) works are piling up so what can I do and (2) I was afraid to go back to the feeling the book gave me so I just had to let the intense feels pass for a while. But then, thank you (at least) to the early Monday morning traffic that I was able to write this review.
Without further ado, I gave this book 4 out of five stars.
One star for the concept. Whenever I hear a book about soulmates, I usually think it’s a cliche (Who doesn’t? Fate seems to be the most overused concept of love in movies and books). But whenever I hear a fellow bookworm recommends it, I expect for something different, and this book didn’t fail me. It is a book about soul mates but the concept of prime numbers is a really unique and amazing theme for a book.
Another star for the writing style. I’ve never read words as beautifully stringed together as the words in these book are. And it was translated! As a communication major, I’ve learned over time that usually, real emotions and meanings get to be lost in translation, but in the case of this book, I do not think so. The words perfectly describe the feelings and the emotions beautifully and vividly. And it wasn’t even written in the first person’s point of view (which usually helps in expressing real emotions) so this book is indeed beautifully written to be able to give me the chills and and (literal) stab in the heart (’cause I really felt it).


The third star is for the the feels it gave me. The feels I am referring to here is different from the “feels” I was talking about in the previous reviews I wrote. These feels are very difficult to describe. It was so intense that I even felt numb afterwards. It was the kind of feeling that made me want to enter the book and push the two characters together. Now I understand Hazel Grace in TFIOS when she wanted to know what happened in the book that bad.
And the last star–the quality of the book that I loved the most–is how this story became the stories of Mattia and of Alice, and not the story of Mattia and Alice. This book presented them individually. It is noticeable that whenever it was Mattia’s POV, it was very seldom that Alice comes in to the picture, and the same goes vice versa. This book shows one reality about romantic love: that the each of you has his/her life ahead of you and that life isn’t just about the two of you.
The individuality emphasized in this novel also made me love the characters more. Some may say that some parts are dragging but I saw it as opportunities to understand the characters and to fall in love with them.
(Well, another reality of love revealed here is that if you are for each other, that doesn’t always mean that you will be together but I don’t want to dwell on that because the pain Mattia and Alice had caused me comes back and I just can’t)
Overall, this book is indeed a prime one–I cannot think of any compared to it.

Well then, if you are looking for a book that will give you that kind of feels in a very unique way (with some sort of mathematics and all), this is it. But when you ran out of tears, don’t tell I didn’t warn you 😉

Leave a Reply

