‘Scored in my heart’ (Review on Jojo Moye’s Me Before You)

 

me-before-you
Photo not mine. Credits to the owner.

It has been months since I last read for leisure due to thesis and the struggle to graduate. So as I enjoy my very short vacation before graduation, I decided to have a ‘comeback’ in my most beloved fictional world. I told myself, ‘Okay, I’m gonna reward myself by reading something not on my schedule but I really want to read’. So I chose ‘Me Before You’, eventually realizing it was a wrong decision. This book tore my heart into tiny pieces and I have no idea how to make it whole again.

And that great heartbreak Jojo Moyes gave me through MBY led me to this rating. 

Rating: 4/5

Why?
One star is for the ‘inclusiveness’ of the story. When I first heard about this book, I thought it was just a love story, focusing on two individuals who met and fell in love. But I was proven wrong. Unlike other romantic stories, this does not focus only on the couple, but also to the people related to them. This story covers these other characters, not merely as people in the couple’s lives, but as characters with their own stories (like the one with Mr. Traynor and the one with Treena). This made MBY, for me, not just a love story but a life story.

The second star is for the way narrated Lou and Will’s story. It was told just like how it developed. Some may think that the story progressed very slowly, but when you think of it, that’s how it really is. Unlike most boy-meets-girl story, wherein two people met and then suddenly they’re kissing and then there’s the tragedy, the way it was narrated made me feel how their relationship developed from nothing to something. It made me feel like I am Lou’s friend, to whom she tells her every day experience in her job with Will, and understands why they fell for each other.

The next star is for the feeling it gave me. Most love stories I’ve read gave me that ‘kilig’ feeling, those butterflies in my stomach, and a smile I cannot hide days after reading it (if it was that good). But this story gave me happiness–the happiness you feel when you’re sure you found the one, the happiness you feel when everything in your life seems so bright, the happiness that you don’t want to believe in because you’re afraid somethings bad going to happen. I felt the love, not because they always touch each other or because they told each other so many times (Lou just said it once or thrice, and Will did not even say it directly), but because it can be felt. I don’t know if this is just because I missed reading this much or because there is really something in Moyes’ writing that made me feel this way while reading his work.

And lastly, the fourth star is for the heartbreak it gave me. It may sound exaggerated, but for real, I felt like my heart was going to burst while reading the last chapters of the book. And every time I remember it, I feel the need to catch my breath. Only few books had made me feel this way. And this is always one of my bases in saying that a book hit me hard.

What a dramatic comeback it is! My heart was broken but reading this is something I would never regret. As Will said, this books “scored in my heart”.

(I apologize for not being able to review the second book, ‘After You’. I had no time because of graduation. But just to give you a hint, I liked this better than the second one 😉 I felt betrayed by After You, actually. As i said, I was too broken by the first book that I cannot accept the concept of moving on)

Leave a Reply

